Lake Worth Sailing Club Dinghy Regatta

Curcuit Stop #4

September 8-9 at LWSC.


2018 Fort Worth Boat Club Texas Sunish Circuit #3

11 June 2018


Fort Worth Boat Club and Ellen Burks put on a great revival of the Fort Worth Boat Club Dinghy regatta.

There were 5 Portsmouth boats and 11 Sunfish. The wind on Saturday was from the left and the right and was up and down but always good! It made sailing a little tricky.

Sunday morning the wind was a little more consistent and was blowing great. There were 6 races Saturday and 3 Sunday, although the fleet could have sailed all day with such ideal conditions.

The Portsmouth winners were 1-Ellen Burks, 2-Caleb LaQuey, 3-Jenny Loehlin.
And in the Sunfish fleet, you know the competition is good when there is a 3-way tie for third place.

It was an absolutely dominant victory by Stewart Draheim with a perfect score as his only throw-out was a 3rd place.

It was Glen Darden taking the best of the rest with a 2nd place and Steve Flunker topped off the podium.

Next event for the Centerboard fleet is the

Summer Solstice in Seabrook
June 23-24.

The next Sunfish circuit stop is back in Fort Worth at the Fort Worth Sailing Club,
Sept. 8-9.

Thanks to the Fort Worth Boat Club for hosting this stop!

FortWorth Scores

Tough Going at Gov. Cup

The annual Austin Yacht Club’s Governer’s Cup Regatta was held on April 7 & 8 and was listed as the first stop in the 2018 Texas Sunfish Circut.

Saturday was one of those exceptional days on Lake Travis in northwest Austin as the temperatures plummeted to a low of 45º with wind gusting to 24+ knots throughout the day.   It became quite a challenge for the AYC Race Committee to handle the large keelboat fleet let alone our Sunfishes.  Alas, there was no racing on Saturday.

Sunday became a completely different day and races were set into motion.   The fleet sailed 5 total races in lovely sunny 5-8 knots breeze.

David McCary was able to take the regatta with a total 10 low points and start the season on the top of the Circut leaderboard.

Dave McCary takes overall victory at AYC 2018Gov Cup!

2018 Governor’s Cup Regatta
Overall Results

Sail Boat Skipper Club Total Race 1 Race 2 Race 3 Race 4 Race 5
1 80387
10 1 2 3 3 1
2 93282 Ravi 17 8 DSQ 1 2 4 2
3 80999 Oh Sheet David
Galveston 17 2 4 1 5 5
4 79334 Ed
AYC 21 8 DSQ 3 4 2 4
5 80640 Annie
23 8 DSQ 6 5 1 3
6 88395 Surf Pat L. 26 3 5 6 6 6

Continue reading